Fairy Loot September

fullsizerender

Fairy Loot is a monthly, UK based, YA subscription box & I just could not help myself. Once I heard September’s box was all about magic I could not be stopped. Fairy Loot does offer 3 or 6 month subscriptions and they’re just starting a monthly subscription but you can also purchase a box as a one off in advance.

So for instance this was September’s box but it opened on August 1st and I snapped it up pretty fast. The price wasn’t too horrible. It’s 26 pounds add in shipping and for me that translated to about $50. Shipping was better than I thought as well. I got the box exactly two weeks after getting the shipped e-mail.

So what’s in the box?

fullsizerender-2

The Book of the Grisha is a lined journal. It’s actually really lovely and I haven’t done anything with it yet because I’m debating whether or not to give it as a gift. (But I’m probably going to keep it.)

The Magic and Mayhem pins are from The Darker Shade of Magic books. I don’t really do anything with pins and my only issue is that one was not attached to the cardboard and actually open so I stuck myself when digging through the packing.

fullsizerender-4

This little necklace by Pastel Clouds is also really nice. I’m not big on the jewelry you get in these subscription boxes but I was surprised by how nice the chain is. It just seems like a better quality than I’d have expected.

fullsizerender-3

I like the art on this print but it just reminds me that I need to finish reading the Grisha Trilogy.

fullsizerender-5

I am a sucker for candles so this one from The Castle of Fables was actually another reason why I went for this box. I am a Corporalki apparently and it happens to smell like watermelon bubblegum. It smells fantastic even though I’m more into Fall candles right now I’m totally using this one.

fullsizerender-6

The book came in this little bag which was perfect because I am an absolute nut for drawing out a surprise or opening a gift. (I drive people crazy during the holidays.)

fullsizerender-7

Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter

I don’t know a great deal about this book but I’ve heard good things so I was very happy to get it. (Plus, it’s gorgeous.) It’s inspired by the Russian fairy tale, “Vassilissa the Beautiful,” and set in Brooklyn and it sounds a little like a creepy fairy tale. Hopefully it will be a good Halloween read.

The book also came with a letter, a book mark, and a signed bookplate.

fullsizerender-8

I’ve had a run on the signed bookplates recently and I hope they keep them coming. That’s one of the reasons I enjoy the subscription boxes.

So all in all I’m very happy with my Fairy Loot box. But I’m probably going to keep it as a once in a while treat for right now.

Leave a Reply

